Limekilns Crossing Today……..

After many twists and turns, I am finally happy with the appearance of the occupation crossing, and the layout in general. However, there will always be some extra details to add, and improvements to be made to existing models. At the moment I am putting the finishing touches to the Fordson truck and a Slater’s RCH 7-plank wagon with side, and end doors. Both models have been taking up space on my workbench for far too long! That is down to making changes to the layout, and life in general taking up modelling time!

I tried various ideas when developing this area, the bushes and hedgerows were moved around until they looked right from the different viewing angles. To break things up a bit, I have used a different style of gate across the disused trackbed.

In an attempt to create a feeling of distance the cart track is slightly narrower, and its surface is a little lighter in colour beyond the crossing.

When compared with the old arrangement, I think less is definitely more in this case. At times, I wondered if I had made a huge mistake by cutting the siding short, but now the scene is complete I believe it was the right thing to do.

Despite having several locomotives to choose from 5807 has been the regular branch loco for several months now. The driver is one of the excellent Modelu figures, the trouble is they are perhaps too popular and crop up everywhere now. So to have something different I’ve purchased some cast metal figures, which have separate limbs in hope of creating some unique characters.

5807 is about to rumble over the crossing with a short train of empty wagons. I expect the next card in the operating sequence to say she is due for a boiler washout and exam. I wonder what Hereford shed will provide as a replacement?

Thanks for dropping by.

Geoff

4 thoughts on “Limekilns Crossing Today……..

  1. Apologies Geoff, I somehow completely missed the notification of the update last week. The crossing scene is simply lovely now (although I thought it was pretty good originally! 🙂 ) I do like your idea of the narrower track with a lighter colour the other side of the track – looks very effective. I do like the loco driver, however popular they may be, the pose looks so much like that seen in period photos (and on heritage railways today!) – look forward to seeing what you do with the white metal figures though!

    Keith

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Keith,

      Thanks for your comment, keeping things simple is the key especially on a small layout. I am rather pleased with how the forced perspective worked on the cart track myself.

      Never thought that I would return to cast figures once the 3D prints became available, but sometimes the old methods and materials work best.

      Geoff

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Geoff,

    The truncated siding is definitely a success and the disused remains are very effective.

    A question that I have been meaning to ask you. How do you run round a train when there is/are a wagon or wagons standing at the goods shed?

    Puzzled of Atherton (David)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind comments David, which are very much appreciated.

      It is very easy to snooker myself when operating the layout 🙂 If the siding loop is blocked by a couple of wagons then trains arriving in the platform road, are either setback into the limekiln siding, or onto the mainline beyond the crossing.
      The line is operated as one engine in steam and both are prototypical shunting moves. The loco is then free to propel any wagons that are blocking the siding loop into the goods yard, or onto the engine release, which can hold one wagon and a loco. All the moves were worked out during the early planning stages of the layout. Believe me when I say that the layout is far from boring to operate !! Despite being shortened the limekiln siding is still long enough to hold the short trains that I run.

      Geoff

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.