Wild Ideas, Chops & Changes…..

A couple of weeks ago I came very close to dismantling Bleddfa Road, for it is getting harder to find new camera angles now, and you can have too much of the same old thing. Were I younger, and in better health then no doubt I would be looking forward to starting a new layout. Several new ideas have been floating around in my head, but all have been quietly dropped. So Bleddfa Road lives on for now, but I need a new challenge, one that would motivate me to do some modelling. One of my friends had this to say…………….

I feel Bleddfa Road is at the stage where you can just now tinker with additional details such as the extra planting, flowers, telegraph wires, etc, etc; i.e. the small everyday details we see and take for granted but only notice when they become conspicuous by their absence”.

With the exception of telegraph wires, which in my experience only act as dust magnets, that is pretty much how I see things. But I’m also considering changes to the trackwork, take the limekiln siding for example, which sees little use.

Removing it would be rather drastic, but I’m attracted to the idea of modelling even less.

Of course the changes wouldn’t stop there because the occupation crossing would become a single ungated affair with cattle grids, so there would be no need for a crossing keepers cottage. I don’t know why, but there is something about this scene that captivates me, perhaps it is the simplicity and openness of the countryside?

Drawing by the late John Lloyd

Now to throw a spanner in the works imagine this simple shelter on the platform, or as a replacement for the current station building at Bleddfa Road. I came very close to modelling this structure, and will definitely be creating a mock up of it come what may.

Another thing that has crossed my mind is to replace the occupation crossing with a slightly modified version of the current road bridge. Its span would be narrower, the road wider and it would be modelled in full so it could be viewed from each end. The cart track leading to the station would have to be realigned, and the existing backscene would remain in place, but a new scenic fiddleyard would be constructed.

Anyway, putting my possible future plans and ideas to one side here’s a few photos of Bleddfa Rd., today. Sometimes I have a diesel only session, the 03 is another model that was picked up cheaply and repaired. I still need three spare parts to complete it, hopefully Heljan will soon come up with the goods.

I rather enjoy watching the 03 pottering around as she shunts the yard. The model is a real heavy weight and runs ever so smoothly. She is seen here on the siding loop with a short train of full coal wagons.

I have been fortunate enough to have enjoyed many cab rides over the years on both steam, and diesel locomotives. Having experienced a trip on an 08 shunter, I hate to think what the ride would have been like on D2139 as she returned down the branch with today’s goods train.

Today’s passengers can also expect a rough ride on the Railbus, but she is much smoother running, since I reduced the excessive axle side play with some fibre washers. With a set of ‘speed whiskers’ on order, I will soon be painting the yellow warning panel out, along with the white cab roof.

Time to pack the diesels away, and make a few card mock ups, well that’s the plan, but anything can happen !

Geoff

15 thoughts on “Wild Ideas, Chops & Changes…..

  1. I always enjoy reading these updates. I think there’s an underappreciated value in returning to see the same things over, as if it builds familiarity and a relationship matured over time.

    I’ve always enjoyed the way you interrogate your models to select and edit parts of the story, in ways such as you discuss above, to leave intact perhaps the foundational and core parts of the layout and explore different presentations and consider how those changes are an evolution of this story.

    And that 03 just sounds like a lovely piece of temptation.

    Chris

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Apologies for my late response to your kind comments Chris, and congratulations on the publication of your magazine.

      The Bleddfa Road story is full of what if’s, but’s and maybes as I explore the endless possibilities in the fictional history of the Lugg Valley Railway. When planning a layout I draw up a list of the features that I would like to model, unfortunately like many others I just don’t have the space to model them all. That is one of the reasons why I like to make some changes now and again, sometimes things don’t work out as I had hoped, but from time to time it is possible to strike gold.

      The 03 certainly tempted me for it is a lovely little model, I really need to crack on and weather it.

      Geoff

      Like

  2. So glad to read further into your post and realise it isn’t the end for Bleddfa Road Geoff, that was a rather scary first sentence!

    And as you know of my liking for infernal combustion machines I do rather like those pics of the 03 pottering around – the railbus is cute too!! 🙂

    Lovely pics again!

    Keith

    PS maybe one change you could look at with the seemingly arrival of spring is to get a little less downcast looking guard for the platform…!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Keith,

      Good to see that you are able to post a comment, has WordPress been behaving itself today? It has been giving me problems since the weekend.

      It certainly isn’t the end for Bleddfa Road, but some changes are definetly afoot, though the bridge won’t be one of them.

      Glad you liked the latest photos of the 03, steam power made a return on Monday. As for the guard, well I don’t know about you, but spring hasn’t arrived weather wise in these parts.

      Geoff

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hi Keith,

      Good to see that you are able to post a comment, has WordPress been behaving itself today? It has been giving me problems since the weekend.

      It certainly isn’t the end for Bleddfa Road, but some changes are definetly afoot, though the bridge won’t be one of them.

      Glad you liked the latest photos of the 03, steam power made a return on Monday. As for the guard, well I don’t know about you, but spring hasn’t arrived weather wise in these parts.

      Geoff

      Like

  3. I enjoy every chapter, so I was saddened when reading the end is nigh! Being a serial layout starter, I fully understand the urge to tackle the next scenario in your head. I know the layouts queuing-up inside me cannot all make it to the workbench. Your compositions always inspire me to revisit my own efforts. Best regards

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It isn’t really the end of Bleddfa Road Ian, as any changes won’t be happening overnight. I’m just exploring various options for now and enjoying myself as I mock them up.

      Glad that my ideas continue to inspire you, thank you.

      Geoff

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Strangely I was just in the middle of drawing that shellter up in 2mm scale fro my latest TVR model. This time set in early BR days with green diesels. And I’ve just been mocking up some limekilns to go with it, having been out in search of inspiration over the last couple of days.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is an attractive little structure James, which should look at home on your interesting new TVR model. Hope you didn’t get too wet when out and about looking for inspiration.

      Geoff

      Like

      1. The more I look at it the less accurate that drawing appears compared to the few photos and the other TVR structures. So attempt number 3 at drawing/building it is underway. At least failed attempts in 2mm scale aren’t costly.

        Having come across the original buildings from Apa Valley I might even revisit that.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know you are now modelling in 2mm scale James but when I first started out in 7mm scale most things also looked wrong, and out of proportion until my eyes adapted to the larger models. I found it a great help to make some card templates of the most common window, and door sizes, a scale figure of average build also came in useful when drawing my buildings and structures. Another useful tip is to leave any buildings that you construct for a day or two, which will give your eyes time to adjust.

        Geoff

        Like

      3. Geoff, I was hoovering (Sharking?) up offcuts off card this morning for that very reason.

        The two big challenges I’m facing are that vertical space suddenly seems more important to consider, whereas in larger scales it takes care of itself, and the question of when does leaving something out become more realistic than modelling it.

        The limekiln is relevant to the first of those points. The one at Nantmawr are quite tall. In theory I could model them, but then the layout becomes unbalanced, both left to right and front to back.

        The corrugated structures reflect the second. Do I bother with internal framing,for instance, where it is visible in the open shelters? I did in my 4mm urinals, and I don’t think anyone but me ever saw it.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. James, in reply to your first challenge, I feel that the first thing to consider is how you intend viewing the layout. I often imagine myself stood beside the track and ask myself what do I see? A friend reckons that shape, colour and texture are more important than strict attention to detail in some cases, and I agree.

        I understand what you mean about your layout looking unbalanced, I modelled my limekilns in 5mm scale so as not to overpower the scene. Obviously modelling yours to a reduced scale would be difficult, so perhaps a smaller limekiln would be the way to go.

        As for the internal framing of the open shelter, I would model it in thin card myself just to give a suggestion of it being there.

        Geoff

        Like

    2. Good points, Geoff. The catch with card is achieving a convincing corrugated effect with a black building. Especially since it will be in the foreground. I think there will be multiple iterations.

      The viewpoint issue is key. I’m going to have to deepen the front valence of the box to allow for a closer and lower viewpoint without the join in the sky being visible. James Hilton’s original concept was more urban, so a higher viewpoint, perhaps from a nearby factory, made more sense.

      Moving the viewpoint closer has a major advantage in moving some of the layout into peripheral vision.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. James, I would take a look at Ratios 2mm scale corrugated sheet for the shelter, and use cereal packaging for the timber frame. The mix of materials, should in theory help you to easily create some convincing 50 shades of black 🙂

        Time spent working out the viewing angles will be well spent, it is certainly going to be a case of trial and error, but that is half the fun of layout design in my opinion.

        Have fun,
        Geoff

        https://www.modelscenerysupplies.co.uk/corrugated-sheets-n-gauge-ratio-312

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.